Goose Island 312 Urban Wheat Ale

  • Origin: German
  • Style: Wheat ale
  • Brand: Goose island (Baldwinsville, ny)
  • Name: 312 Urban wheat ale
  • ABV: 4.2%, IBU: 18
  • “crisp, bright flavor shines like city lights on lake michigan.”

Goose Island 312 Urban Wheat

1. Appearance

This beer contained sediment which was evenly scattered throughout the bottle. Upon pouring, I initially thought this beer was a light beer. There was a medium amount of carbonation with a slight foam top.

2. Aroma

The aroma was very weak. However, it was rather fruity with a hint of bananas. It smelled wonderful, but required effort on my part because it was not a strong aroma.

3. Taste / After taste

In short, this beer was rather tasteless. It reminded me more of a plain light beer more so than a wheat beer. The taste contained almost no sweetness with a delayed crisp spicy and bitter taste.

The spiciness derives from the cascade hops. After this spicy taste faded, the after taste was as absent as the sweetness. I found myself asking, what did I just drink?

4. Texture

The foam added some volume to the texture. This beer consisted of a creamy body with smooth flow.

5. Experience

If I had to sum up this experience in a few words, it would fall into the boring category as far as wheat beer is concerned. I could see myself drinking a six pack on a hot summer day as it is a beer that does not get old. It definitely reminded me of a Heineken – which is a great beer, but distantly off from a wheat beer.

After finishing a pint, this beer reminded me of eating an entire meal of bread – I was left full and fulfilled, but my entire meal was tasteless.

6. Conclusion: 1 Star

1 star

In the end, this is a good beer, but it just does not cut it as a wheat beer. Great for day drinking in the summer, but not great for the enjoyment of taste.

 

Leave a Reply

